I Woke With Planets In My Face by Peter Adams (2008)

26Jan11

I love talking about this album, and why I purchased it. Peter Adams is a relatively unknown artist who makes great music…right up my alley. I won’t act like I know much about him, so check out peteradamsmusic.com for biographical info, etc. I stumbled upon this album online…I think I was actually looking for an artist with a similar name, but instead found this buried treasure from Cincinnati. At the time, he was selling this album through his website for the price of $whatever-you-want-to-pay. This was a marketing strategy pioneered by bands like Radiohead (In Dreams) that probably doesn’t work for everyone. He has since changed that strategy, but you can still stream all of his music for free online to “try before you buy”. I like that…an artist who stands behind the quality of his work, and has made it clear that he’s doing whatever he can to please his fans without going bankrupt. Check out his site’s blog posts if you want to hear about the thought process behind all of this. But enough about that, let’s talk about the music…

I Woke With Planets In My Face reminds me in some ways of Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon. I’m not a Pink Floyd fan by any means, and I don’t actually think this record sounds like DSotM, but it has the vibe of a movie soundtrack. Everybody knows the old trick with DSotM, right? (Push Play after the lion roars at the beginning of The Wizard of Oz, then the album seems to follow along with the movie) The orchestral arrangements and story-telling vibe give me the feeling that the same trick could be done with this album…the movie would have to be like Beetlejuice or Wall-E or something. Give it a listen and you’ll see what I mean. The instrumentation is stellar throughout the whole record, especially during ‘I Was Looking at the Ceiling, and Then I Saw the Sky’. If you don’t agree with me that this album sounds like a soundtrack after hearing this song, then you’re crazy.

I don’t know that I’d recommend individual tracks for you to download, because I think you gotta listen to this album as a whole “story”. For example…the song ‘Ziggurat’ doesn’t necessarily stand out to me by itself, but by the time you get to it on the album, it feels like it is a climactic moment in the story. And by diving into the album as a whole, you’ll get a kick out of certain moments like the last minute of ‘Conversation with the Moon’…60 seconds of the “space noise”, which any fan of Ren & Stimpy or old black-and-white space movies will appreciate.

“Man in the Moon…Man in the Moon…this is Earth calling. Repeat…this is Earth calling the Man in the Moon…”

Peter Adams is a great up-and-coming artist to check out and support. Have I mentioned yet that he plays every note of every song on his records??? Do yourself a favor…head over to his website and buy this album now, because there’s nothing else in your music collection quite like it!

music turtle recommends: DOWNLOAD IT!

What do you think about this album? Comment below

No Responses Yet to “I Woke With Planets In My Face by Peter Adams (2008)”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

