Pat McGee Band – Loews Hotel, Annapolis, MD – New Year’s Eve 2011

04Jan11

It really doesn’t take much effort to become a Pat McGee fan. I mean…the guy tours the country religiously so he’ll be in your neighborhood someday soon, he writes and plays great music, and makes himself very available to his fans. Sound like a recipe for success? It gets better. A couple of years ago, Pat decided that he wanted to take things a step further, so he designed a concert/event that would give his fans the up-close-and-personal feel that they desired. Each event consists of a couple full-band shows, and a few smaller-venue jam sessions where he fields questions/requests from everyone in attendance. These events recently became known as Down The Hatch, and Pat hosts at least 2 of these long weekends each year. I was lucky enough to attend the first event in Outer Banks, and his most recent Down The Hatch show last weekend for New Year’s Eve in Annapolis. I only made it to the concert part of the NYE weekend unfortunately, but it was a blast!

I had been traveling all over the east coast for the holidays, and had an otherwise eventful week as well, so my gas tank was on E by the time New Year’s Eve rolled around. Things started off nice and chill with some good old-fashioned pre-drinking, and a quality opening set by Taylor Carson – check out his song ‘Heavy (The Whiskey Song)’. To be honest, at that point I was ready to hang in the background and relax while watching one of my favorite artists (Pat) play a couple of sets in anticipation of the New Year. But then the Pat McGee Band took the stage, and my exhaustion went out the window! My group of 4 was having a great time as the band’s first set was winding to a close, and our combined BAC rose. Then, shit got interesting…Pat announced that I had won a contest to come on stage, play bongo drums with the band during a slick cover of ‘Rapper’s Delight’, and take the drum home with me too. WORD! I did the robot halfway through the song, and showed drummer Chardy a thing or two about how it’s done on the bongo. Talk about a fan experience! I promised Pat afterward that I’d treat it like the Stanley Cup and take pictures with it in obscure places, so stayed tuned to see if I keep my word hahaha

The best way for me to describe Pat’s music is to say that anybody who enjoys the simple things about rock music will love it. Pat’s songs are actually about something. Take a listen to HAVEN’T SEEN FOR A WHILE, and I’m sure your mind will wander to some old time and place. His style is primarily acoustic guitar-based rock, filled out by a band whose members are completely fluid, so much so that you’re not likely to see the exact same people on stage more than once in your lifetime (I don’t think I have, and I’ve seen PMB play like 15 times). So while this year’s version of REBECCA may feature a sax layered over piano, next year you may see a version dominated by electric guitar. The best analogy I can make to a popular radio artist would be Edwin McCain…Pat is like a less emo/more energetic version of McCain, but equally passionate.

It’s hard to edit my thoughts on PMB and the NYE show down to a few paragraphs, but I know that there will be more Pat-related material on this blog in the future. So do yourself a favor and check his tour schedule. The next Down The Hatch is already scheduled for Outer Banks in May! See you there?

music turtle recommends: GO SEE THESE GUYS!

Ever been to a Pat McGee Band concert? Comment below

2 Responses to “Pat McGee Band – Loews Hotel, Annapolis, MD – New Year’s Eve 2011”

  1. Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from
    an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thanks


  1. 1 Brandon Colker

Leave a Reply

